PROGRAM OVERVIEW: Southern Producers Lab


The 2020 Southern Producers Lab, produced and presented by the New Orleans Film Society, is a program designed to bring together 10 emerging, diverse producers from around the South for an intensive series of workshops, panels, one-on-one mentoring sessions, and community-building opportunities over the course of three convenings throughout the year.

This first convening of the cohort will be a virtual gathering April 13-15 with industry leaders and established producers to address the many aspects of producing. During this first virtual convening, producers will each workshop their projects, give feedback to one another and address challenges and engage in thought partnership on many aspects of producing from story development, funding and financing, and budgeting to sales, distribution and festival strategies.

2020 Southern Producers Lab is made possible with support from Cinereach, National Endowment for the Arts, JustFilms/ Ford Foundation, Oolite Arts, Perspective Fund, Sundance Institute and ITVS.


PROGRAM CALENDAR: Summary

  • Monday, April 13 : Southern Producers Lab Session 1
    • Session Time: 10am-1pm PT / 11am-2pm MT / 1-4pm ET
  • Tuesday, April 14: Southern Producers Lab Session 2
    • Session Time: 10am-1pm PT / 11am-2pm MT / 1-4pm ET
  • Wednesday, April 15: Southern Producers Lab Session 3 (extended session)
    • Session Time: 10am-1:30pm PT / 11am-2:30pm MT / 1-4:30pm ET

Advisor
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Karim Ahmad is the Director of Outreach & Inclusion at the Sundance Institute, where he oversees emerging artist outreach initiatives and cross-discipline creative / professional development activations and partnerships. He also leads inclusion strategy across the organization, and advocacy for marginalized artists in the field. Previously, he was Senior Strategist for ITVS, where he oversaw numerous film funds and headed digital content production and creative development for episodic and immersive media. He was the Creator and Senior Producer of Indie Lens Storycast, an Independent Lens branded YouTube channel on PBS’ Digital Studios MCN, and the Creator and Showrunner of the iconic sci-fi series, FUTURESTATES . Karim is also an independent cross-platform writer and producer and can be found on Twitter as @thatkarimahmad. more...
Advisor
Summer Shelton was the recipient of the 2018 Independent Spirit Piaget Producer’s Award. She produced "Maine" which premiered at the 2018 Tribeca Film Festival and "Keep the Change," the 2017 Tribeca Film Festival Best Narrative Feature. She was Executive Producer of "People Places Things" which premiered in US Dramatic Competition at the 2015 Sundance Film Festival. Her other films include: "People Places Things, "Little Accidents," "Goodbye to All That" and "Adult World." more...
Advisor
Shrihari Sathe is a New York based director and producer. Sathe most recently won the 2019 Film Independent Spirit Award – Producers Award. His credits as producer/co-producer include Jaron Henrie McCrea’s PERVERTIGO, Eliza Hittman’s IT FELT LIKE LOVE and BEACH RATS, Partho Sen-gupta’s SUNRISE (ARUNODAY), Afia Nathaniel’s DUKHTAR, Bassam Jarbawi's SCREWDRIVER, Ritu Sarin & Tenzing Sonam's THE SWEET REQUIEM amongst others. more...
Advisor
Shana Swanson is an Emmy Award and Peabody nominated Supervising Producer at ITVS. She has worked for ITVS for six years.Prior to joining ITVS, she was a documentary Producer in New York City where she produced feature length documentaries for Alternate Current, an international arts and cultural production company and The New York Center for Visual History. more...
Advisor
Jannet Nuñez is the Content Development Manager at ITVS, public media’s leading incubator and presenter of independent film. She oversees the Diversity Development Fund established to provide seed funding to producers of color and support filmmakers transitioning into production. Jannet has served as a reviewer, panelist, and juror for a number of organizations and film festivals including 4th World Indigenous Lab, BAVC, Kartemquin, Pacific Islanders in Communication (PIC), SFFILM, and Sheffield International Documentary Festival. She holds an MFA in Film Production and a BA in Film & Chicano Studies. more...

Join the Discussion